Eighth Girl

Eighth Girl

Regular price
$28.99
Sale price
$28.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

Title: Eighth Girl
Author: Chung, Maxine Mei-Fung
ISBN: 9780062931122
Publisher: William Morrow
Published: 2020
Binding: Regular Hardback
Language: English
Condition: New


Fiction 1208983
Publisher Description:

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub!

An unsettling, seductive psychological thriller about a young woman with multiple personalities, perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh

An electrifying, thought-provoking, and unflinching novel. --Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

"An exceptional debut from a talented author." --Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa Wú, a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is controlled by a series of alternate personalities.

When Alexa's friend Ella gets a job at a high-end gentlemen's club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa's world becomes intimately entangled with Ella's, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret as she follows Ella into London's cruel underbelly. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of living in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician's expertise, Chung's psychological debut deftly explores identity, innocence, and the fracturing weight that young women are forced to carry, causing us to ask: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or to self-destruction?