Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dey Street Books

Magic Is Dead: My Journey Into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Title: Magic Is Dead: My Journey Into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians
Author: Frisch, Ian
ISBN: 9780062839299
Publisher: Dey Street Books
Published: 2019
Binding: Quality
Language: English
Condition: New
New from the publisher

Non-Fiction 1208947

Publisher Description:

In the vein of Neil Strauss' The Game and Joshua Foer's Moonwalking with Einstein comes the fascinating story of one man's colorful, mysterious, and personal journey into the world of magic, and his unlikely invitation into an underground secret society of revolutionary magicians from around the world.

Magic Is Dead is Ian Frisch's head-first dive into a hidden world full of extraordinary characters and highly guarded secrets. It is a story of imagination, deception, and art that spotlights today's most brilliant young magicians--a mysterious club known as the52, who are revolutionizing an ancient artform under the mantra Magic Is Dead.

Ian brings us with him as he not only gets to know this fascinating world, but also becomes an integral part of it. We meet the52's founding members--Laura London, Daniel Madison, and Chris Ramsay--and explore their personal demons, professional aspirations, and what drew them to their craft. We join them at private gatherings of the most extraordinary magicians working today, follow them to magic conventions in Las Vegas and England, and discover some of the best tricks of the trade. We also encounter David Blaine; hang out with Penn Jillette; meet Dynamo, the U.K.'s most famous magician; and go behind the scenes of a Netflix magic show. Magic Is Dead is also a chronicle of magic's rich history and how it has changed in the internet age, as the young guns embrace social media and move away from the old-school take on the craft.

As he tells the story of the52, and his role as its most unlikely member, Ian reveals his own connection with trickery and deceit and how he first learned the elements that make magic work from his poker-playing mother. He recalls their adventures in card rooms and casinos after his father's sudden death, and shares a touching moment that he had, as a working journalist, with his childhood idol Shaquille O'Neal.

"Magic--the roman