Saving Jemima: Life and Love with a Hard-Luck Jay

Saving Jemima: Life and Love with a Hard-Luck Jay

Regular price
$25.00
Sale price
$25.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

Title: Saving Jemima: Life and Love with a Hard-Luck Jay
Author: Zickefoose, Julie
ISBN: 9781328518958
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Published: 2019
Binding: Regular Hardback
Language: English
Condition: New


Nature 1209037
Publisher Description:
For fans of Wesley the Owl and The Soul of an Octopus, the story of a sick baby bird nursed back to health and into the wild by renowned writer/artist Julie Zickefoose.

When Jemima, a young orphaned blue jay, is brought to wildlife rehabilitator Julie Zickefoose, she is a virtually tailless, palm-sized bundle of gray-blue fluff. But she is starved and very sick. Julie's constant care brings her around, and as Jemima is raised for eventual release, she takes over the house and the rest of the author's summer.

Shortly after release, Jemima turns up with a deadly disease. But medicating a free-flying wild bird is a challenge. When the PBS show Nature expresses interest in filming Jemima, Julie must train her to behave on camera, as the bird gets ever wilder. Jemima bonds with a wild jay, stretching her ties with the family. Throughout, Julie grapples with the fallout of Jemima's illness, studies molt and migration, and does her best to keep Jemima strong and wild. She falls hard for this engaging, feisty and funny bird, a creative muse and source of strength through the author's own heartbreaking changes.

Emotional and honest, Saving Jemima is a universal story of the communion between a wild creature and the human chosen to raise it.