Skip to product information
1 of 1

Harper Perennial

Voice of America: Stories

Regular price $5.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $5.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Title: Voice of America: Stories
Author: Osondu, E C
ISBN: 9780061990878
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 2011
Binding: Quality
Language: English
Condition: Used: Very Good
Clean, unmarked copy with some edge wear. Good binding. Dust jacket included if issued with one. We ship in recyclable American-made mailers. 100% money-back guarantee on all orders.

Fiction 1292547

Publisher Description:

"E.C. Osondu is a man with a clear head and a great ear, writing from crucial places." --Jonathan Franzen, author of Freedom and The Corrections

"With observant wonder and subtle humor, [Osondu] portrays...our unique capacity for hope and hopelessness rolled together." --Mary Gaitskill, author of Bad Behavior and Veronica

This collection of vivid, compulsively readable stories marks the debut of Nigerian author E.C. Osondu, winner of the 2009 Caine Prize for African Writing. In the tradition of Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, J.M. Coetzee, and Chinua Achebe (all patrons of the Caine Prize), Osondu's stories are wise, soul-stirring, and deeply compelling. In electrifying prose, he articulate the struggles of Nigerian immigrants in America, and refugees, villagers, and ex-patriots in Africa. Voice of America marks the beginning for a brave and remarkable new voice in African Literature.